‘If I do not tell you that I am a person in long-term recovery, you have no idea. If you have no idea, then you are missing out on an opportunity to receive the hope that recovery happens.’ (Addaction)

And so dear listener, I have started 2017 later than most and genuinely did not know what day of the week it was a few days ago and whilst this may have been the case for many Hogmanay revellers, for me it was slightly different. Let me explain.

Last Saturday (Hogmanay) I signed in for a twelve hour shift on 31/12/2016. At five to seven the next morning, I’m still signing things with the date 31/12/2016. The next shift? Well, they’re well ahead of me and my co-worker. They can use the date 01/01/2017. Already I’m eight hours and one year behind the rest of the world!

And I have two more twelve hour shifts, with some sleep between, and, suddenly, it’s Wednesday…I think. 😦

And even if I do go out for fresh air, then it feels like most of the rest of the world is on holiday. Oh, hang on; they were. Now, this is not a complaint; this is an observation. And, yes, I have chosen to do this job and I enjoy it and at no time do I get annoyed at teachers on social media who post about their drunken exploits during the holidays and then complain about going back to work after two weeks off but some other people I know who also had a couple of weeks off really deserved it. No. No names. No reason. 😉

I did okay with holidays in the run up to Christmas and, indeed, presents. 😀

Indeed, (obviously today’s word) as a consequence, I have decided to start collecting curtain tassles. And why not? (And I said that in that really butch voice I am so uncomfortable with) 😉

But there’s a few things worth mentioning here.

For example, there’s been lots of studies over the years about the effect that long-term night-shift can have on people’s lives (I typed ‘loves’ there. I should maybe have left it) but little has been said about the effects of agency working and irregular part-time work and the effects they can have other than highlighting the financial aspects – there are other issues.

And at this point I would like to make the point that some organisations out there  are very good when dealing with irregular workers and the organisation I work for is one of them. In my days as a relief worker when I was offered a shift and I accepted it was for the full shift and guaranteed unless there was significant change in circumstances. Training was available, the wages were good and things like holiday pay happened.

But it’s in things like the planning of your life. That constant looking at your phone just in case that text is actually offering you a shift and you don’t want to miss it. 😦

You don’t need a diary (you’re scared to put anything in it anyway) because every date is in your brain anyway and you know when you are unavailable for cups of coffee. The flexibility that my current and future rotas offer me is good but I find it strange that I can take holidays or go sick and still get paid for it – but that’s the freelance in me.

I have booked a long weekend in March and I really should be planning to go away (any suggestions? Any volunteers?) but hang on; that’s a busy time for editing and I don’t want to let anyone down…..

(I must do a good job for people as one man this week paid me 50% more than I asked for but that doesn’t happen often).

http://www.thewordprocess.net

But times and timing have always been important to me. I don’t often talk about the weeks before Cold Turkey but I knew something was up when I turned up on the wrong day for a doctor’s appointment….(that and the shaking and sweating until I got a whisky inside me)…..I don’t do that. I used to be the producer of live radio programmes which relied on people getting into studios all over the world at an agreed time.

And finally how long do chocolate bees last before they come to the end of their useful lives and need putting down?

Cya, still wearing that badge and still keeping it simple.

Iaint850, as cool as, man, as cool as…….

So a wee bit, if I may, about the quote at the top.

I was delighted during the week to read that Kevin Kennedy (Curly in Coronation Street) had not had an alcoholic drink for eighteen years and that Clare, his wife, was doing really well as well. Kevin uses AA as a means ‘to stay safe’ and is often asked for help (I would say ‘occasionally’ where I’m concerned) and runs a charity called Kennedy Street offering help. However, I get the impression that what has made all the difference to him and his wife is this;

‘His daughters Katie-May, 12, and Grace, nine, by his wife Clare – who he reconciled with after getting sober – have never seen him touch a drop of alcohol.’

Other people may find other reasons. For me it’s having a clear brain all the time – not that I use it all the time, but at least it’s there.

I suspect that Kevin and I would disagree over whether alcohol dependency is a behaviour or a disease but we both share the pressures of boredom or nothing on the TV (I go for a walk which I will be doing more of as I attempt to lose girth) and we both have to be in the right mood before we go into a pub (but it didn’t help the other night when my companions got nice mixer glasses for their vodka and cokes or irn-bru and I got a massive tumbler of orange juice. That was soooo off-putting)

He and I are both very lucky with many really good friends but I’m better looking. 🙂

This is a very difficult song to sing (it’s the breathing) and this is an amazing version by Caravan Palace who played it on Jools Holland. It’s Black Betty. It’s brilliant.

One Response to “‘If I do not tell you that I am a person in long-term recovery, you have no idea. If you have no idea, then you are missing out on an opportunity to receive the hope that recovery happens.’ (Addaction)”

  1. johnt850 Says:

    Apparently Guy Standing, who has received much coverage recently for his ideas on a Universal Basic Income, is the author of a book called The Precariat – which has identified ‘an emerging class of people whose lives (have) been diminished bu short-term and zero hours contracts.’

Leave a Reply

