‘We close on Monday or) Tuesday 27th) My 3 sisters come from Korea. I miss them ten years. thanks’ (A genuine sign on a dry cleaner’s in Glasgow…isn’t that lovely?)

And so dear listener, this is possibly your favourite edition of the show; it’s the one that shamelessly plagiarises the pages of the Daily Telegraph and gives you, the listener, the opportunity to be the life and soul of the party.  It’s the Christmas Cracker edition which will give you a wee bit of a laff and I will obviously intersperse these jokes (?) with the odd comment to real people and then next week it’s the Blog Personality of the Year Awards.

Here goes.

Q What is the best Christmas present in the world?

A A broken drum, cos you just can’t beat it!

And J I’m really pleased we went to that place early for the exchange of presents. I mean, we were lucky to get a seat………(I think most people will be able to guess the ending to that one!) 🙂

(You get the idea?)

Q What do you call a cat in the desert?

A Sandy Claws

And Missie K I do hope I didn’t embarrass you in Tinderbox the other day by showing you how Alabama 3 move and groove live on stage – a shimmy to the left and a shimmy to the right and repeat – and, indeed, I do hope, J, that I didn’t embarrass you by doing that the other night – for real.

(What would I do without Princes Square for entertaining in town?)

Q What do angry mice send to each other at Christmas?

A Cross Mouse Cards

And Debs, No, I haven’t done that risk assessment. In fact given the amount of shredding I’ve done since the end of the SVQ I’m not sure if I’ve even got it. Oooops.

Do you bring in soup on dayshifts? 😀

Q How does King Wenceslas like his pizzas?

A Deep pan, crisp and even.

And, e, that was a brilliant Nollaig card designed by young AJ and I see it’s to help raise funds for Sgoil Ghaiidhlig Ghlaschu, which as you know has long been one of my favourite organisations and if it was them I helped last year, then just please ask again…… and have a good holiday. 🙂

Q Why is it getting harder to buy Advent Calendars?

A It’s just that their days are numbered.

And Ann from PCUK HQ, I’m thoroughly looking forward to eating vegan 😉

Q Why did no-one bid for Rudolph or Blitzen on eBay

A They were too deer.

And Sharon when you said the Grill in the Inn in the Park was near the station, did you mean Gilmour Street or Paisley Canal?

Q Which famous playwright was terrified at Christmas?

A Noel Coward

And finally, I’m just back from posting a condolence card. To someone in Peterhead. And I’m not going to say anything about putting things into perspective but to me it is a reminder that none of us are infallible and we often have a tendency to underestimate people and what they can bring to the world.

Cya, still wearing that badge and so glad I kept it simple.

Iaint850, praise the Lord and pass the ammunition (a line from an A3 song)

Nollaig Chrideheil dhuibh uile agus Bliadna Mhath Ur

So many, many years ago I shared various flats with a smashing woman called Viv (and occasional others) and it was like as if Viv was the template for so many of my ‘girl as friend’ relationships since. We stayed in some really crappy flats but I won’t say too much in case Harry the Greek has any legal representatives who read this blog. I think my favest was in Bower Street where the damp was soooo bad we had salmon fishing rights for the whole street. 😦

But one Christmas (possibly my first ever away from home) we were on our own in a flat in Otago Street shivering around the two bar electric fire wondering if any place would be open where we could go for a warm up (changed days, eh?) when the doorbell rang. It was Alex and Monica with Alex having liberated some booze from his dad’s drinks cupboard followed soon time by Brian who followed the booze and then the doorbell rang again and it was and so on and the party started and someone knew an Indian takeaway that was open and, several days later we emerged. 🙂

For some reason, I always associate this with that party and Greg was another that 2016 claimed.

2 Responses to “‘We close on Monday or) Tuesday 27th) My 3 sisters come from Korea. I miss them ten years. thanks’ (A genuine sign on a dry cleaner’s in Glasgow…isn’t that lovely?)”

  1. Dennis Says:

    I remember Viv and Otago Street. And of course Alex Brian and Monica. Long time ago my friend. Happy Christmas.

  2. johnt850 Says:

    It feels like it was, well, last century….

Leave a Reply

