Mountains are more than just fun; they are hill areas (stolen from Facebook but funny)

And so dear listener, the issue that was causing me anxiety has been resolved. I can’t say too much but I had acknowledged my initial responsibility. It was what happened after that that caused the problem. I shall say no more and leave it there.

But some good, well, interesting news on the work front in that I am moving from working part-time night shifts to working part-time days (early and late) and I’m not too sure when that will happen. It will be a strange feeling as it means quite a change in lifestyle. We talk about the financial aspects of zero hours contracts, agency and part-time working but it has a major impact on lifestyles which does not seem to have been researched yet.

(I’d a quick look at Google Scholar which is much more academic and reliable than Google and I could find little research in this area. On occasions, when researching my Master’s, I was, on typing in a keyword, offered a link to this blog….worrying that someone on the other side of the world, for example, may be quoting me in an academic piece of work) 😦

And a good reader’s eye catches not just abused spelling and missing apostrophes but worries for former Spice Girl, Geri, when it’s announced in a tabloid that she’s ‘expecting her second child aged 44’. I’ve never given birth but that does not sound too comfortable. 😦

And I read with interest that an actor called John Thomson, star (?) of Cold Feet, has received some interesting things through the post. Em, I don’t know how to put this. Yes. I do.

Many years ago there was a man with the same name who worked for the BBC in Glasgow who occasionally received mail, in that name, with a photo of the other John Thomson and the writer asking for an autograph on the photo. Well, the Glasgow John Thomson does not like to disappoint, so the photo was duly autographed and returned. C’mon, no animals were harmed, were they?

BUT, talking of television personalities…….I was down at my mate Nick’s the other afternoon and Nick is the Chief Executive (and most other things) for Demus Productions who currently produce the SSPCA programmes for STV but also do a lot of music stuff for BBC Radio Scotland. When I showed up he was in studio so I’d a black coffee (I’d been on nightshifts the two nights before) until he came out with THE Natasha Rasken – star of daytime TV antiques shows – and she was really lovely to talk to…..and brightened my day up in a way coffee could never do. 🙂

Natasha will be presenting an edition of Friday night’s The Music Match quite soon for BBC Radio Scotland). This week it’s comedian Ashley Storrie and it’s always well worth a listen (10.05 pm to 1.00 a.m.)

And finally, I did watch the first episode of Still Game but did not find it out-and-out laugh aloud funny.  It was very cleverly written, which may have been a sensible thing to do, and it can build up now we’ve been re-introduced to the characters. However, the beauty of that opening sequence, when Ford was looking at his watch and counting down the seconds to Jack coming through the door was immense (the waiting finally was over)…… and the fallout over the newspaper? Was that an oblique reference to their own falling out? Or am I reading too much into these things?

And keeping the name dropping going…I worked with Ford and the man of many voices, Lewis Macleod, many years ago on the pre-recorded material for Off the Ball and I am amazed anything was recorded there was so laughter.

(And Greg Hemphill was Off the Ball’s first ever presenter and I worked with him as well and still have a t-shirt from the first ever series which has a picture of  naked Greg on it with his privates covered by an extremely large ball)

Gosh, it’s a long time since I’ve done so much showbiz gossip and it feels weird……but that’s it for a long time. I’m not mad keen on name-dropping as I said to Kanye West the other day in the ASDA…..at least he claimed to be Kanye. Lives in the high flats. In Acre Road. With Kim. He said.

But Happy Birthday to the Vampire Slayer X

Cya, still wearing that badge and still keeping it simple.

Iaint850, agus tha mi toilechte.

The reason I was down at Nick’s was that I’d lost the only CD copy I’d had of my last ever radio documentary which was about prostate cancer and I’d co-produced it with Demus Productions. I wanted a copy for myself but I also want to lend a copy to someone to show them what I used to do.

Listening to it brought back memories. It’s a positive programme with lots of optimism and altho’ you don’t hear me, well, I wrote the script, did a lot of the interviews and found the guests and that kinda stuff.

The weekend of 10th, 11th and 12th December this year is my tenth anniversary of ‘Cold Turkey weekend’ and I’m keen to celebrate it (one idea already in place) and the memories of that weekend will never disappear – even if I describe them with humour. 😀

But my treatment for my cancer was not difficult. The NHS is brilliant when it comes to illnesses like this as they so know what they’re doing.  That makes it easy BUT Channel 4’s Stand Up For Cancer and Movember will also bring back memories for me……..people are brilliant when it comes to events like these  and so much of the money goes to research which may never eradicate cancer but it help so much with the treatment. 🙂

The radio documentary started by talking of a time when castration was the prescription for my cancer. Thankfully we had moved on by the time I’d my radiotherapy (37 days worth) and, yes, everything in working order. Still.

This was the first ever Bob Dylan track I was aware of and I think it was cos of the name. It was only in later years I realised that the man in the background was Allan Ginsberg.

Leave a Reply

