This being human is a guest house, every morning a new arrival…The dark thought, the shame, the malice, meet them at the door laughing and invite them in. (Jelaluddin Rumi 13th century)

And so dear listener, myself and e were perambulating in a southerly direction down the Byres Road, renowned for its proximity to the University and other seats of learning, its erudite wordsmiths and its highly educated middle-class populace when we spotted them.

One was an awning above a new shop with the words; TEMPORALLY SIGN, 😦

One was a board outside Matilda’s, currently a favourite coffee shop cos it does cakes without glutens, with the words, MORGNING DEALS, 😦

And I don’t think ASHTINS is a very appropriate name for a fragrant candle shop. 😦

And all that before we reached Hillhead Library – an important seat of learning in its own right; or at least it should be.

But a massif Well Done to Darcy’s in Prince’s Square who not only know what products are gluten free, they have a physical piece of paper with the gluten free menu on it. 😀

DRAWBACKS OF WEARING AN MP3 PLAYER EVEN WITH THE EARPHONES OFF, NUMBER 1;

Being in a bank and being asked to put your number in the machine on the desk and saying it out loud.

And I did go to the mindfulness class the other night and, I think that helped later that night with a small editing problem, cos I was soooo relaxed.:)

http://www.thewordprocess.net

But I realised that I might be on a different plane from some folk during a discussion on what the mind can do (think in context). Suggestions included being a judgement factory and masterful storyteller.

I explained that sometimes my mind says to me, ‘Sod this for a game of sodgers. There’s a lot better fish to fry out there. And that’s where I’m going.’

I don’t invite these strange looks, y’know.

DRAWBACKS OF WEARING AN MP3 PLAYER EVEN WITH THE EARPHONES OFF, NUMBER2;

Being in Queen Street Station and a friend creeps up on you and you feel the need to borrow the station announcer’s microphone to apologise for the bad language you used when he grabbed you.

And BBC Al, the blog’s bad taste pal, I found it! This is in memoriam of a pair of shoes that died on Wednesday.

What the Mallard Duck were they on? And speaking of rhyming slang (altho’ to be honest this is rather convoluted), have you ever been offered a Penny Pickle?

And my thanks to those people (men mostly) who are raising funds this month for research into male cancers by growing moustaches. I’m often asked why I don’t grow a moustache for Movember. The answer is simple. I think it’s important that people see me (on a daily basis) as someone who came through bad alcohol issues and bad cancers eight to nine years ago and looks normal with ‘everything in working order.’ If a touch fat. And weird…..just ask Skippy. She knows, you know.

And some people may be interested to know (j and e mainly) that I have decided to extend my wardrobe – but not in a Narnia kinda way cos that would see me walking straight through to the neighbours. No. Black is no longer the only colour in any of my universes – it’s a blue-ish, grey-ish crew neck sweater from a charity shop in Byres Road. Three pounds since you ask.

DRAWBACKS OF WEARING AN MP3 PLAYER EVEN WITH THE EARPHONES OFF, NUMBER3;

Being in Queen Street Station and having donated two pounds for two poppies and then thinking the man said, ‘Don’t forget your pound.’ (‘But, I’ve already given you two.’) when he actually said, ‘Don’t forget your pin.’

And finally, my apologies to anyone (j, but there may have been others) for whom I may have ‘spoiled’ last week’s episode of The Last Kingdom by talking about it; so what I’ve done this week is to write this sentence earlier in the week so it won’t happen again. 🙂

Cya, still wearing that badge (and I found the missing one!) and keeping it simple

Johnt850, a bit ragged round the edges, but pretty magnificent nonetheless

(Thanks Zoe)

I wear a poppy and do so most years unless I lose them – I need to buy more than one at a time. I do it not out of respect for those who sacrificed their lives (or more accurately ‘were sacrificed’) in various wars this century but out of respect for families who lost loved members. But I also respect the right of people not to wear the poppy. The important thing is that people have the right to choose and make their own minds up about to wear or not to wear.

But this is no longer the case. I saw a bit of X Factor last weekend when I saw an all-girl band and I was transfixed. By their poppies. I would be soooo knocked out and made up if I thought they had gone, ensemble, to the producers and said, ‘oh by the way, have you any poppies we can wear tonight out of respect for the dead of various wars?’

If they did, then I apologise. Or were they, like near enough everyone else on TV, told to wear them in case someone complained. I was told this week of a man who turned up at a meeting on 11th October wearing his poppy (were they even on sale then?) but was soon advised of the other peoples’ views about his possible reasons for doing so. He left the meeting in disgrace.

Poppy wearing should not be compulsory – not just in a TV studio – but anywhere. Discussions about why we go to war should be.

MOST INAPPROPRIATE COMMENT WHEN WEARING A POPPY?

Someone pointing out it looked a bit damaged and I replied, ‘It’s like it’s been in the wars, isn’t it?’ Yes. I did.

I don’t know if I play this music every year or whether it’s just most years.

Siouxsie and the Banshees…..Poppy Day

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

