Waiting for the fire to light Feeling like we could do right Be the one that makes tonight ‘Cause freedom is a lonely road We’re in control (Calvin Harris)

And so, dear listener, I was recently in a road rage incident with painful consequences. To be honest, I think we were both at fault. She had double-parked (with hazard warning lights on) in a fairly wide street in lower Hyndland; I had let some approaching cars go past and then there was a space and the next car flashed its lights, so I thought I was good to go.

But I wasn’t. It kept coming. I think I did okay by just knocking her driver’s mirror but she was after me. So I stopped. Now, I was ready to give my side of the story once we had started speaking BUT my driver’s door wouldn’t open. So she had to open it for me thus giving her a major advantage. So I listened and I apologised but she had her point to make.

And the ‘painful consequences’? Her final words……’you’d think at your age you’d know better.’ 😦 😦 😦

So if you think that last week my self-esteem was low down, you ain’t heard nothing yet. 😦 😦 😦

My writing is so bad that, at the project where I work, I have been told to print things. I recently had to ask on fbook if anyone knew what I was doing on 21st April cos all I could make out was D (and as it turned out to be a female name that was quite embarrassing) and then there was Lisa.

I’m friendly with two or three of the Post Grads at the most recent Alma Mater (and yes, they are female). On Monday I mentioned to them that I was meeting someone who had spoken to them last week called Lisa (as well as Keiran). No, came the well-informed reply, there was no Lisa. I looked again at my notes and two minutes later I realised…….It was L129. NOT LISA. It was the room number.

‘Have you got out the wrong side of bed?’ they politely asked. ‘No’, I said. ‘The wrong side of the car,’ I explained. ‘I had to crawl over to the passenger side and get out that way.’

Which isn’t really a problem, is it? Except that I seemed to keep switching the radio on without turning a key when I transferred seats. However, I have a jacket which has got those toggly, stringy bits that you tie together when it’s raining. I had shut the door on the string and couldn’t get the door to open. Pure panic!

So somehow I had to take my jacket off. Which was not easy. It has been a long time, dear listener, since I took clothes off in a Clio. And certainly not in the ASDA car park. That I can remember. And then emerge from the passenger side in torrential rain and go and open the driver’s door and get the jacket.

Can I just say that the jacket is one of those sailor-type ones which I picked up in a Byres Road charity shop but the zip wasn’t working. £6 to a sweat shop at the top of Crow Road and it was.

And then there was the problem of the water being off. I looked at the Scottish Water website and saw that the affected area was Bearsden, which meant it affected us as well but they don’t like to say Summerston in the same sentence. My shift that night had been changed with my approval from 9.30 pm to 8 am to being from 8 pm to 6.30 am – a good shift. However I do like a shower before I go out. The tap gurgled hopefully but by 6.30 pm I could wait no more – the Pyrex jug was used to pour a medium warm daud of water over my head……Thirty minutes later, there was a full stream of consciousness cascading through the taps…..

And finally, I did watch Cannabis Live on 4OD and apart from seeing a former BBC colleague called Mylo who is now a top music producer(altho’ BBC Scotland had used him as an Assistant Audience Researcher), I was left with quite a few thoughts; Richard Branson saying that without cannabis some music might have been a lot shorter (come on…. Tubular Bells made you a fortune); why would you go into an MRI Scanner when you’re stoned and apprehensive? And where are Jenny Bond’s ‘pleasure centres’? 🙂 🙂 🙂

Cya, still wearing that badge and defo going for it

Johnt850, a wee bit apprehensive about the future – again.

So the phone went and I was on the train and it was the general BBC number and the guy at the other end said he had come across my phone number as a ‘cancer survivor’ on their database and would I be interested in taking part on the end of a phone in BBC Radio Scotland’s Morning Call on the subject of how you feel after you’re given an All-Clear from cancer. And I said, YES.

It’s something I’ve spoken about a lot. The time when people who have come through the cancer are at their most vulnerable is when they get the All Clear. Up to that point they’ve had the benefit of those fabulously fabulous people at the NHS; family and friends have been with them all the way; and they know there will be sunshine when they get the All Clear.

No. There ain’t no sunshine. But a whole life to re-build and an identity to re-establish. It’s a wee bit like coping with life after alcohol. But there is life out there.

You have no idea of the pride with which I answered Louise White, the presenter, when she asked whether you would know whether I was a cancer survivor. No, I said, I work with the homeless; am applying for a PhD; and abseiled down the Titan crane with the good Dr W (except I gave W her Sunday name)

I have felt a bit of a pest recently for all sorts of reasons but, I’m afraid that’s me for the rest of my life. I’ve changed identity too often.

The band’s called All Time Low and it’s a long time since I’ve been there. I’m on the way back up. It’s Central Station all over again!!!!!

Leave a Reply

