Nobody expects on a Friday night for a helicopter to crash on top of a pub (Alistair Hay, the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service)

And so dear listener, there is not much I’m going to say today.

There is a sadness hanging over my adopted home city. There’s not much I can say.

Obviously I had things I was going to write about including post-graduation stuff, the assault course I was supposed to be going on and why it didn’t happen and so on but today they’re not relevant.

Yes, I do write about death and similar but the deaths caused by substance abuse and cancer tend to be slow – other than those that happen as a result of cold turkey. The deaths the other night (including the people on the helicopter) were sudden and unexpected and in a manner we have known, I think, only once before in Glasgow – a city which is not unused to sudden deaths.

The way in which I heard the news was not unusual these days. I woke just after seven, looked at my phone and deleted the Groupon messages and so on and noticed activity on Facebook…….this was people talking about the incident. I immediately switched on BBC Radio Scotland and got……a pre-recorded programme about the outdoors. Why was it not dropped and replaced by a live programme?…….questions can be asked later but the fact was that I went downstairs and switched on the BBC News Channel controlled by London and saw BBC Scotland news people doing a smashing job. It’s a difficult moment for journalists because the basic story has been and gone and all you can do is re-tell and react.

I think I’ve now gone off the notion of a Scottish Broadcasting Service…….maybe some people at Pacific Quay can only get aroused when it’s the Commonwealth Games……anyway….I’m told coverage improved later. Laura Vickers and Aileen Clarke and their production teams played a blinder.

I was impressed at the quality of interviewee and their participation in the rescue; Jim Murphy being asked about blood on his shirt; a retired fireworker helping his colleagues to get in; the rescued who came back the next day to find friends; the pub manager who switched off the gas; the stories not just of survival but of helping others to survive; and the quiet but truly emotional words from the various political leaders and the rescue services.

Neither the Clutha nor the Scotia were pubs I frequented but they are both important in the folklore, history and legend that is Glasgow.

One may be no more. It is a sad day for Glasgow but one from which hope springs eternal. There may be more in the form of a legacy from this horrible event than there is from any other event happening next year.

Let Glasgow Flourish by the Teaching of Thy Word

Johnt850

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=michael+marra+youtube+mother+glasgow&docid=4728408019437268&mid=C2EFA8166F6D4756A249C2EFA8166F6D4756A249&view=detail&FORM=VIRE1#view=detail&mid=C2EFA8166F6D4756A249C2EFA8166F6D4756A249

One Response to “Nobody expects on a Friday night for a helicopter to crash on top of a pub (Alistair Hay, the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service)”

  1. haydaygame Says:

    I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing problems with your blog.
    It appears as though some of the written text
    within your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a problem
    with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

