I see your hair is burnin’ Hills are filled with fire, If they say I never loved you You know they are a liar (The Doors)

I don’t often remember dreams, dear listener, but this one was vivid. It featured some of you but worry not – you did not disgrace yourself/ves. I did. I drank. Alcohol. In some kind of village bar. In the South of Scotland. And on a bus. I have no idea what the occasion was but it had the feel of Cutty Sark in Tam o’ Shanter. Two whiskies and a pint of lager. As opposed to two pints of lager and a packet of crisps. People dancing. Ceildih-style. But wild. I can place most of it in a context but why?…. :-S

But I awoke with no great desire for booze. And indeed I’m not sure how I would feel about the taste of it now. In the most recent dark daze, I wanted to feel whisky down my throat; to feel that burn it gives you but not the taste. (One day I will find the exact quote from James Ellroy)

For some reason I also woke up to a note by my bed which read ‘car crash in Peter Holmes Nissan’ which was indeed a long time ago and I have no idea what that meant……..One day I will tote up the number of car crash incidents in which I have been involved. The first was a long time ago and kinda involved taking the car without the owner’s permission. I was the passenger. It was a country lane near my Alter Ego’s home town of Peterhead. The driver failed to perform a three point turn properly and we had to go and confess to the owner. ‘Cos he’d lent us the keys to get something out of the boot, so we were banged to rights…… 😦

Many years ago I dreamt I was eating a giant marshmallow. When I woke up the pillow was gone. Kerching!

I’m here all week and the Cod’n’chips is to die for. (And that’s the mood lightened) 😀

And can I just correct a friend in that the organisation Plenty of Fish Dot Com is not a regular meeting of Pescatarians but people with something totally different in mind. (But I take no pleasure from the current ‘scare’ about horsemeat being found in the middle of cowmeat and pigmeat lasagne or burgers but if it means that ALL concerned, at all ends of the food chain, start thinking about what goes into processed food, can it be a bad thing?)

But it’s been a week when I did another night shift – this time I did turn up at the right time. And it is a very strange feeling. Cos you’re not doing it regularly. Which would be a big help. But do you remember Ford Kiernan and Greg Hemphill trying to replicate the success of ‘Gonnae no’ dae that?’ with ‘Oy! We’re on the night shift’………..I just wanted three hours sleep before going out again……Thanks Scottish Gas but I am happy with my energy provider. Red Bull. Or at least it was before my cancer doctor told me to go caffeine free……..which I’m kinda doing. And it’s a long and winding road to Alexandria (near Balloch not the one in Egypt) but it may be worth the journey. 😉

And finally, I was sooooo pleased ‘bout them finding those bones under the Car Park in Leicester. Why?…….Because I can tell this gag.

A New York Mafioso type person walks into a public library and asks for a copy of Dick da Shit. ‘What?’ says the librarian. ‘We don’t have such a book.’ ‘Yes you do cos my boss, the Don of Dons says you do,’ says the very nasal Mafioso. ‘It’s by some guy called Shakespeare. It’s about a king desperate for a horse. For his burger.’

The librarian thinks for minute. ‘Oh, you mean, Richard the Third.’

‘Richard da Turd. Dick da Shit. It’s all the same to me.’…….

Cya, keep(ing) it fun and still wearing that badge? I’ve been rubbing it a lot lately. I need to get out more but soooooo many things got cancelled recently. 😦

Johnt850, sorry but the blog took rather a strange turn this week.

There is a convention that one addict should say nothing publicly about another addict. Therefore I can and will say nothing bout Paul Gascoigne, other than to wish him luck in his latest quest for sobriety and peace of mind.

But can I just say to every one of his ‘friends’ who always tend to get quoted at times like this, that if each one of you spent one day per year with him – maybe taking him out to the countryside he seems to love so much – and did so anonymously and secretly (some ppl will know where I adopted that from).

Then maybe, just maybe, he might relax and feel he does not have to please people quite so much. His is an obvious case of that………It’s not always that easy to work out who’s pleasing who, tho’, sometimes. Trust me. And I’d still like to dance under the stars some day. Paltonically would be fine. I saw plenty of them on the way to the night shift the other night…..next time I’ll concentrate on the road.

This is to please anyone who likes the Beatles or sings their songs. Youtube Yellow Submarine and you can navigate into the  entire movie with Spanish (subtitles)….how pleasing is that?

Leave a Reply

