Generosity is giving more than you can and pride is taking more than you need

Wise words there from the Sun’s Holly, 22 from Manchester quoting the Lebanese poet, Kalil Gibran, and I know she’s a Page 3 girl but like so many people I know she can be underestimated in terms of their abilities. People have surprising talents and I’m sure all the girls who do Page 3 research these things for themselves. That’s the only reason I read it. Honest. Altho’ I have been hiding the cutting from ppl and was very embarrassed when somebody found it on my desk. The words ‘blog research’ sounded so ‘limp’.

And of course, last week was International Women’s Day…….well obviously just one day. Otherwise it’d be International  Women’s Week. One of the ‘girls’ in the class claimed that it was still a patriarchal society and not a single man in the room disagreed. Read what you will into that.

Mind you it was a strange week for those of us who aspire to work in drink and drugs rehabilitation. There was a report which suggested that LSD should be taken in order to help alcoholics cure their addiction. The report’s author, Professor Looney Boffin (made up name), said, ‘It’s puzzling why this treatment has been largely overlooked.’

Yup. It beats me why David Cameron has not incorporated it into his next Tory Manifesto. Sounds a pure vote grabber to me. Sometimes I do believe in the school of thought that if we banned alcohol and gave out free Ecstacy the world would be a better place. But maybe I should wait until I’ve passed my Standard Grade in Alcohol and Drugs Addiction before I break such taboos.

Incidentally, and whilst I say very little about my placement for obvious reasons, I did do Naloxone training recently. It is what you can administer to someone who you believe has OD’d on opiates. It is very contentious and I’ll avoid the contention, if that’s okay.

Two things tho’;

First (but not firstly) I joined the group with the folk who use the centre just as one of them……..all of us currently clean. We started off with a quick flipcharting of an A-Z of drugs. Now I worked out that when they came to me I’d either be L (LSD) or N (and I was going to offer Nicotine) but blow me down in a Force Nine Gale with the ship on an even keel, currently avoiding thin ice, when I was asked for M. My thanks to the silent voice beside me who whispered ‘Magic Mushrooms’………under other circumstances, I might have said ‘thanks’.

(And yes, I could have said Methadone but my mind had gone blank)

Secondly (permissible) ‘cos we were doing CPR we got four top body crash dummies to practise mouth-to-mouth on. They came in a bag called Little Anne –itself spooky. Even spookier, apparently, was my request to take them home, clothe them and put them in my car and drive around just to prove how popular I was. But wouldn’t anyone? David Cameron, you can have that one as well. For nothing.

And I mentioned recently how every week was a voyage of discovery with Study Buddie Fi. This week? The Council Tip, Kilbirnie. Can I just say that I didn’t realise that I was not allowed (Health and safety presumably) to press the red button that opened the ‘hopper’ and that a special man had to do it. I’ve been thrown out of many places in my time but never a council tip. I think. 😉

Incidentally, a very special word to Fi for pointing out that toad in the dark in my back garden. And for seeing me safely to the multi-story car park on Monday. I had to leave the class early to goBeeb (see below).  It’s not often I need help with premature evacuation……….. 😦

And here’s a totally gratuitous vid of Reverend and the Makers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1eZzqhGvaZM&feature=relmfu the

And finally, just the usual housekeeping if I may…….to e and AJ, YAY!!!!!!!!……to the good Doctor W, I have not taken the huff; I just have a different recollection of events and, anyway, you were the one who said……..to Auntie Sharon, thanks for the wedding cake and the advice….and to the blonde haired waitress in the Italian restaurant on Saturday night, can I just say I wasn’t really asking for your phone number. No. No reason. But I did end up ‘lashed to the mast’ later. 🙂

Cya, keep(ing) it fun and still wearing that badge? This month I’ve swopped it for the blue man cancer badge. Have you?

Johnt850, whose face was incredibly red when the guest lecturer suggested a jolly interesting ice breaker (details available in a separate wrapper).  

Naw, this week’ serious bit is reasonably easy to do, ‘cos it’s available on BBC iPlayer. Here’s the link below. One hour 18 minutes in.

It’s an interview I was asked to do at BBC Radio Scotland at fairly short notice. It was one I did for the many men who have died of incurable prostate cancer. A couple of weeks ago I mentioned about not giving up and a couple of ppl said it helped them. Roy was an inspiration to me when I started doing awareness work for the Prostate Cancer Charity. It would have been awful easy for him to stay at home or go to one of those self-help groups and complain but he didn’t. The phrase ‘giving up’ meant nothing to him. The idea of asking for ‘an extension’ has a different meaning when you’ve been given four months to live. Please listen to this.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01d5ns2/Newsdrive_12_03_2012/

 

2 Responses to “Generosity is giving more than you can and pride is taking more than you need”

  1. Sharon Kelly Says:

    Brilliant John, about that icebreaker, please please do not feel the need to share 😀 XX

Leave a Reply

