Because I always feel like running, Not away, because there is no such place. Because, if there was I would have found it by now………

Y’see if this was a normal blog I’d be complaining about how we can’t cope and how lousy the Transport Minister was and so on but pffffffffffft. Like millions of others I just got on with things. I work basically from home, I eat for one 😦 and my car started every day. I dug myself out and went, slowly, where I had to. Socially? Horribly quiet. All invites will be accepted.

Not without adventure, but more of that later.

However;

Scotrail, you are rubbish. Summerston is not some twee fancy pants middle class railway station out in the sticks. It is on the Glasgow North line featuring Kelvindale – Maryhill – Summerston – Gilshochill – Possilpark which, looked at it in that running order, resembles my descent into Irvine Welsh territory had I not cold turkeyed. I looked at your website!

‘Subject to short notice cancellation’.

Nothing f**king ran for a million days from Summerston but the steps to the platform were always gritted…..just in case.

Parents – my heart went out to you. I looked randomly (No. No reason) at North Lanarkshire Council’s website and I felt for lots of folk who had to make lots of decisions about schooling and travelling and nurseries and all sorts of things. (I know a few people in NLCC area btw, not just, well, anyway……….)

Weather forecasts were, in the main, right but they are only a forecast. But we’ve got to learn to trust them. I was meant to be attending a kinda office party on Friday. Earlier in the week the forecast said things would be a lot better. It was cancelled several days in advance. Friday morning was fine.

But well done to the War Veterans who made it to Broughty Ferry for their book launch.

http://www.fuzzylime.co.uk/news/littlegreenblog/charity_book_launch1/

And motorways……heavy snow fell at a time when the motorways and main roads were already clogged up with rush hour traffic. Snow ploughs and gritters don’t live on the M8. They’ve got to get there and if side roads and slip roads are jammed they can’t get through until these roads are cleared.

And supermarkets……what an amazing opportunity to chat up women and help them carry their shopping home and…… moving swiftly on…….. 😀

Btw, I love the smell of last night’s incense sticks first thing in the morning. Don’t you?

To this week’s adventure.

It was Thursday and one year old AJ got in touch and said he was going to Yorkhill Sick Kids for a regular check up, so I drove over and parked the car at the far side of the Botanic Gardens where another car had been and met up with him and his mum. We walked down and everything is fine with AJ. And at this point, dear listener, I should stress that, on occasions like these, I stamp the word FRIEND across my forehead altho’ my alter ego does want to stamp YES. EVERYTHING IS WORKING across his.

But that question (my role, as it were) has never been asked but there have always been looks of amazement, (sorry that should have read ‘admiration’), from many younger men……for all sorts of reasons……and I am well used to them, having been out/met up with friends like AJ’s mum (e), L frae Troon, the gorgeous W, Missie K and the Vampire Slayer, all incredibly beautiful women (just plucked at random there) during the course of the last few months.

But that question was asked. In Waitrose. Next to the carpet shampoo aisle. (Gulp….)

Did we know the name of the big new stationer’s that had opened halfway down Byres Road? (I mean – do we look that sort of person?) Well sadly, Yes. We did.

‘Ryman’s’, we cried out in unison, and to our embarrassment. We slinked out and I returned to my car. Chastened. Only to find that snow had hardened and I couldn’t get over the lump.

A phone call was made and, minutes later, wearing a high visibility jacket, carrying a spade and a bucket of grit, came AJ’s dad. This man is a hero. This is the man who, six months ago, at his son’s Naming Day at a posh castle in Ayrshire, explained to the guests that there was a good reason why I had parked my car in a rose bed. As I do. Sober.

AJ’s dad dug me out. I didn’t help. I am useless at times. I drove home very slowly but actually did drive home. I did not dump it. My ten year old Megane is brilliant even if it is white and you can’t see it if you’re in a helicopter and it’s snowing. Actually not just my Megane but all those women mentioned above are brilliant and I hope things are okay with you all.

But AJ’s dad…….ta. It is not too late for e to nominate you for the Blog Personality of the Year, but it is for me alone to vote.

And finally, on the question of voting, I do have £5 (five pounds) on Cher to win the X Factory. At twenty-five to one. I have only seen The Sing Off between her and Mary Byrne, but whilst Mary has a good voice, Cher’s can only get better, if she just screws the nut……Same beneficiary as the winnings from Spain’s successful World Cup, btw……and it’s my turn to pay 😀

Cher was sooooooooooo amazed at the folk who turned up at a recent gig. She says, ‘I thought it was just going to be my gran skanking out in the corner’. Son Brian was worried I’d do the same at his graduation a couple of years back.

(and yes, this was written before Saturday’s show)

Cya, keep(ing) it fun and still wearing that badge? I use it to reflect the sun onto the snow in front of me. It melts straightaway.

Johnt850, a tiger for the techno and the trance.

Y’see I had planned to do jokey stuff about how online retailing will never catch on cos you need to see what’s in the basket, the price of fish, and why a Christmas Carol Concert in March would be a brilliant idea for publicity and awareness for a charity. But I didn’t.

But then maybe one day I’ll lose my enthusiasm for saying, ‘Why not?’

That’ll be the day when I reach University Avenue and turn back.

Amazing kids at Yorkhill. Amazing people working with them. Things may not always turn out as you expect or hope (Trust me. I know. I am that tw*t). Grow up, yet still take risks, young people. Seize the moment, seize the opportunity and don’t use the weather as an excuse. AJ didn’t. Nor did the War Veterans.

Carpe diem

One Response to “Because I always feel like running, Not away, because there is no such place. Because, if there was I would have found it by now………”

  1. johnt850 Says:

    And on the night, Cher had the best voice, the best act and dared to be different. I thought she was amazing.

Leave a Reply

