I always skip the words ‘cos all the pictures are so bright and loud; better off than now ‘cos I’m still amazed you made it out alive after what you did ‘cos it’s good to be back….good to be back

Altho’ sometimes I’m better just sticking to words ‘cos whilst one pic might be worth a thousand of them, what if it’s the word tw*t (kinda) magnified a thousand times? (Yes, of course it’s a message for someone)

And the band is obvioulsy Tokyo Police Club off that now famous MP3 player called ‘When and Where and Who…..?’ or WTF did it come from? to give it, its current name

Words? They don’t come easy do they, not if you’re dissertation editing and the question of ethics arises. Y’see, all I’m allowed to do is improve the quality of the product; to help get the writer’s message across a wee bit better which is much more than just checking spelling and grammar but I’m not supposed to originate things…….it must be the writer’s original thoughts. Theoretically, I can only suggest re-writes. But let’s be honest…… 😉

Yes. Let’s be honest ‘cos this potential client did not hide the fact that he had copied’n’pasted most of it with no intention of doing anything for himself. He wanted me to do it all. After a wee bit of discourse, I refused to do the work. I know too many hard working students out there.

But, said friends, ‘jt, you badly need the money’ and ‘you cannot deep fry scruples.’ I shivered and thought of Tiny Tim (wtf is TT, Skippy?) and the coming of Christmas. Two days later he was in touch and apologised and game is back on but it’s not a big earner but…….’the coming of Christmas’?……….what on Earth is getting into me?

No. I like people who can spell correctly, which is why I am only too happy to go to a pre-Christmas event organised as a thank you to folk like me who do a wee bit of volunteering; it’s a mulled wine and mice pie morning…….mice pie…..an interesting event for a sober pescatarian like me. I’ll maybe carry a cold kipper and my own bottle of water.

But can I also recommend a Carol Service at the City Chambers to raise money for the Prostate Cancer Charity on the evening of Thursday, 16th December where the fabulous Singer Station take centre stage. Some of you may have seen them on Don’t Stop Believing earlier this year but maybe not realised that at least two of them live in care, one has survived bullying and one is a refugee. The Glasgow Islay Choir is also performing but I’m too much of an inverted snob to say anything about them.

I wonder if I should invite………..*pauses for thought*………  😀

Yet again mulled wine and, this time, mince pies. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm. (Both events do have non-alkie drinks, but it’s interesting how little variety is available altho’ I understand why)

(I was going to say something disparaging about the Gaelic language (helicopter) but young 20 lbs, who is about to celebrate his first birthday, is learning Gaelic. I hope he likes his pressie. I hope his dad knows how to work it.)

Pescatorially, how am I doing? (Can I recommend The Mussels Inn in Hope Street? Brill food and briller waitresses. Thanks Uncle Colin. Do you really think she thought I was a Secret Millionaire??)

No, for the first time ever in my life I have had ASDA cobbler 😦 which is a smoked fish, with a touch too much Woodbine in it, and I bought an aubergine for £1. Possibly the best bargain since e bought four cucumbers for the price of two. There are rools about quotes given. Good luck with the end of maternity leave, btw.

‘Working mums are badass. It’s a balancing act and that’s the greatest challenge’. (Jessica Alba) I know a few and I think they’re amazing. Jessica also says of Robert de Niro (66 years old and someone else who sees his prostate cancer as in the past); ‘hot women were constantly falling at his feet.’ See me, see Bobby….so much in common.

And I missed football (not always a loss) on Saturday cos of the referees’ strike. I blame Celtic; this chip they have on their shoulder, seeing conspiracy theories everywhere they go. Mind you, that Hugh Dallas had a real Freemason’s haircut, didn’t he? But an honest man….on the level.

And finally, my thanks to L frae Troon for that amazing website (kept me going all Friday afternoon, unlike some…..), to W for an awfully interesting discussion on vocabulary the other day – we must do that more often, and to Jaymi for enveloping my Saturday afternoon in a vapour of drink and drugs’ influences (eh?).

And an amazing anniversary. It is now exactly five years (Start of Block 2) since I first met some students like Missie K, the Vampire Slayer and Cathcart Minor (who is not going out with a 17 year old). I think what is so utterly utterly amazing is that they became friends and helped so much when others, older, were conspicuous by their absence. They still are….really really good friends.

cya, keep(ing) fun and still wearing that badge? Yup, and looking at it brought the smile back to my face just now. 😀

Johnt850, brilliantly original and darkly cool.

And why was I so grumpy? Y’see sometimes on a Monday night, there’s a City Halls prostate cancer talk on a related subject, except it’s no longer in the City Halls. It’s in the James Weir Building at Strathclyde University, except it’s actually in the Royal College Building. Yes. I do walk the streets directing people in. Did anyone talk to the two women sitting on their own? Shit. I meant to.

And last week’s talk was from two psychologists and it was about coping…….and accepting……and being happy to accept help……and there was just this tremendously sad feel to it all. I half expected to hear words like ‘suffering’ and ‘victim’. I stood up at the end and explained how important fun and humour had been to me during the radiotherapy days and I got some strange looks.

I did get some folks after, coming up and agreeing with me. And I’ve got be careful about this. Let’s just say there’s still a lot of people out there, in my minority view, who are happy to have their sugar stirred for them. And a lot of people who think they know how the sugar should be stirred. And how much.

So I’ll say no more. I’ll leave you with a link to Singer Station singing Don’t Stop Believing and I’ll just say, that if I ever do, that’ll be the day…….I stop wearing the badge. Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g365uzekbck

3 Responses to “I always skip the words ‘cos all the pictures are so bright and loud; better off than now ‘cos I’m still amazed you made it out alive after what you did ‘cos it’s good to be back….good to be back”

  1. The Blogmeister Says:

    My boy is learning gaelic too. He goes to gaelic nursery in Airdrie.

    I’m quite proud of him speaking another language at the age of nearly-four, but I still think it makes adults sound like gay Klingons.

  2. johnt850 Says:

    I’ll certainly pass that on to his dad at the birthday party but I might just wait until I’m leaving the building!!

  3. johnt850 Says:

    Except to say, I didn’t make it to the party….the snow was just too deep and crisp and even………why does that ring a (sleigh) bell?

    And the present was an abacus.

Leave a Reply

