Don’t watch TV It’s all lies I watch TV day and night I believe everything I see And I can’t turn it off The only thing that held me together in the good old day was a wish That I could wish the world away

So was that really Johnt850’s alter ego on The Hour on STV the other night? Or was it the Stig? Is jt really 42 in any universe? Just how grey is his hair, and how hot is Dr Debbie? (Very) And why was he so professional in looking at the presenters but not in selling himself to the millions of women watching? And did he really come to a compromise with the STV production team that he could say ‘finger up the bum’ as long as he didn’t flip the middle finger? Yes, but it was two minutes less than promised so needs musted. 

The band? American Music Club, although I would like to thank the gorgeous Ms W for her Carly Simon suggestion but I think that was a different jt she was referring to. Carly. Not W. 🙂

But, no, I thoroughly enjoyed myself, altho’ I must remind people that the topic was  prostate cancer and help and info are available from http://www.prostate-cancer.org.uk/ and we provide speakers and fund research and offer information stands such as the one I’m doing on Friday, 10th September in Bellshill YMCA (Don’t sing it!). No. No ulterior motive. 😉

(And it’s Son Brian’s birthday two days later)

And I know I’m an apologist for the BBC from time to time but The Hour is such a smooth affair, it puts certain aspects of Pacific Quay to shame. It was like radio with make-up. The Green Room is the reception, the studio is next door and there is absolutely no fuss about anything. You do a wee run through with Stephen and Michelle, and then I got taken to make-up by Fiona (I thought she was saying how ‘cute’ I was but she was actually saying how ‘cool’ I was and I think she meant unflustered, not what I was hoping she meant.)

What else? I did not chat up any of the 18 year old models but one of their mums, Catherine from Abronhill in Cumbernauld, Dr Debbie is hot (Yes. I know. Opening para), and whilst Stephen is good, I came away well impressed with Michelle. And not just that glint in her eye towards me.  A lot to learn but a natural in a TV studio.

And of course that amazing quote from Stephen Jardine;

Robert de Niro, Nelson Mandela, John Thomson here, are all living proof and are all here having survived prostate cancer.

On a wow factor of one to ten how big a wow is that? I told someone I was going to put that on my gravestone and they pointed out that kinda defeated the purpose.

So please can I for once be forgiven;

http://player.stv.tv/programmes/the-hour/2010-09-01-1700/
 

Part One has a smashing shot of me at five mins in (now my F/book profile) and Part Three has me and the sizzling Dr Debbie from about 6 mins 50 secs.

And a big thanks to all well-wishers and the folk who got in touch afterwards and mums who phoned daughters to say ‘your friend’s on TV talking about his prostate’ and to Ann my mate down the red light district who said she’d tell ‘the others’ and to Tam for the pic which is now my Facebook profile and L frae Troon and, and, and the wonderful lady from STV who gave me a hug and for telling me about her mum. Not every cancer is a prostate one. 

So, now can we get back to the usual nonsense where jt850 is seen as a separate individual living in a parallel universe surrounded dreamily by ladies of the knight where I can say whatever I like without people knowing it’s me? Please?

 Where jt850 takes counself from an increasingly large round table and, rrm, you are no longer the sole male member of the sub-committee. Al, not BBC Al, but another Al who has a whisky blog somewhere which is so gooooood that I have deliberately lost it (just in case) but to be honest his every word had six syllables in it so I have no idea what he was talking about. : (

Anyway I have received a number of individual presentations and I believe there’s another two next week.

My fave so far came from the well tanned Vampire Slayer. No. I’ve no idea what she was saying.  I was too busy trying to conceal my smug smile as all these guys were going past (Buchanan Galleries – Starbucks) wondering what it is that I have that makes me so damned attractive to women. Or maybe they were looking at the Vampire Slayer……mmmmm….I seem to know a lot of women who Zumba.

Strathclyde Police were doing a fair amount of that last week as well.

Someone has suggested body pumping (?) to me but do I want a body like Les Mills? No. If I’d a choice, the body I really want is………….(it’s oke. Cold shower with added ice cubes is being prepared by my faithful retainer….hang on, I don’t have……..Yes, I have returned to the world that is beyond the naked lunch from Henderson’s Salad Bar.)

So, and finally I was going to say something about football but I can’t be bothered. Instead I’d like to applaud Prince Charles for his recycling efforts and that fact that he wears shoes ‘made from bales of leather salvaged from an 18th-century wreck off the South West of Britain’. Doesn’t sound like TX Maxx or Primark to me.

cya, keep(ing) it fun and still wearing that badge. Happily. 😀

johnt850, restored

Actually a few folk have said how brave I was the other night. The bravest person I have ever known cancerly is my late mum. I was there when she was told that she had cancer and it was too far gone and all they could do was offer chemo to keep her alive but she turned it down partly cos she wanted to keep her hair and I thought that is dying with dignity and if anything like that were to happen to me then I would want to be the same and I remember thinking after I walked home that I’d actually taken my car to the hospital that day……….and had to get a taxi back to collect it.

Welcome to my universe. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

