All he wanted was to be free and that’s the way it turned out to be. Flow river flow. Let your waters wash down. Take me from this road to some other town.

The Ballad of Easy Rider and for once there is a thought-out theme. Kinda. Serious bit at bottom same as usual but I aim to get every piece of music off the Easy Rider soundtrack into the show today.

Actually I’ve got that and the soundtracks to Trainspotting and Fear and Loathing on a loop downstairs. No. No reason.

Y’see my alter ego was about 14/15 when the movie came out and was living in a smalltown fishing town in the North East of Scotland (and one currently sweating buckets over the BP oil disaster, but everyone takes the money and to hell with the conequences) and the soundtrack meant so much. I, sorry, he really believed he was Born To Be Wild.

And I bumped into a guy during the week who I hadn’t seen for while who kinda embodies the easy rider feel to his life. Christian used to be a researcher of mine who used the casual employment to fund his extreme sports. (I know I said ‘waterboarding’, C. I meant ‘snowboarding’) I taught him a lot which has helped him a lot during his freelance life; how to make soup from roadkill and how to get out of paying for the coffee by getting a mate to ring at just the right time.

And what a programme idea we have, altho’ it may be more Bravo than BBC 3, Nick.

Where did we meet? Down Byres Road where every day is like Kyrie Eleison Mardi Gras. It gets better. Trust me.

Now, nobody said the road to vegetarianism was going to be straight ahead, turn left and you’re there but can I say how much I actually enjoyed pulling out into traffic. 🙂 And can a guy have too many good looking female friends? I think not. 

So, wending swiftly on with our (eh?) money on Spain to win and Ivory Coast to make the semis.

Actually I did wonder what would Dennis Hopper have done in these circumstances but the answer – two grams and a bottle of JD – doesn’t really apply to me these days, does it? Altho’ If Six Was Nine what would be between Five and Seven? Well, that’s when I normally have my tea. Kerrching!

Sorry, I’m in a strange mood. http://www.thewordprocess.net/ is having a good few days. Hunners and thousands of PhD words needing read and edited at short notice, and for money, albeit with various discounts. It does mean, however, that I am locked in the room now known as The Office for several days, many of them of twenty four hours’ duration and a sign on the door that says, Don’t Bogart Me.

‘Cos it’s not just typos, grammar and tidying; it’s wrestling with concepts like can ‘a mistress of ceremonies [have] a mastery of words’?

As some of you know I did apply for work teaching radio in a YOI but didn’t get it. It’s the only job in my life where, when I asked about on-the-job training, I was told it was ‘ self-defence’ …..just in case. Serioulsy.

But what’s this on the Met College website? A management position at my old Alma Mater? After all I’ve said? This is my chance. So, if I did stand for election, what would be my multi-media platform? (I was looking for details of the End of Year Exhibition);

0 To smile a lot. 😀 😀 😀

1  To respond to all external e-mails within a set number of days, particularly when they offer ideas for evening classes.

2 To offer some sort of care and support to alkoholics with cancer (It’s alright Ma (I’m only bleeding)) ‘cos none seemed to exist in my day. 😦

3 To care about students as individuals and not just see them as University fodder.

4 And to smile a lot. 😀 😀 😀

Referees? Well, last time I went for something like this top pop picker and former student of mine, Heather C was one of them (during my sandblasting – not good time) and on another successful occasion I got a jolly good reference from another former student, gd frnd Clr. High Horse Level Committee – Wasn’t Born To Follow.

Any volunteers, btw? There’s a drink in it. 😉  Oh, and well done to all those UWS students who got honours degrees.

And finally, quick housekeeping. Vampire Slayer, gonnae gie’s peace about your secret mission! Days and counting! lol 😉 xx Cumnock Corr, S, I was going to mention your cat reference but the funniest pussy gag ever is Steve Martin’s. Google Steve Martin’s pussy gag and see this blog on that page. I am so proud. Much prouder than the time it appeared on the Airdrie ‘Dogging’  Contacts page. I was so relieved. Oh, The Weight. (Two to go….so far, so good)

But not as relieved as the BBC’s Jeanette who has become a granny yet again at the tender age of………….let’s just say, schoolgirl grannies are not unknown that side of the river! 

Erik the Floodstalker, good luck in Mehico….except the World Cup’s in South Africa this year*; blogmeister, nice jacket but I already pull my sleeves up and e,….how’s the grass? (which in the context of much of today’s blog is possibly a dubious question but you know what I’m talking about).

Maybe I should have flown in that afternoon but If You Want To Be A Bird you gotta have wings! (Is there a stopwatch on me?……I am so hot!)

*Serioulsy Erik is a damn fine and excellent student journo who does damn fine and excellent freelance stuff. Him and her, a damn fine and excellent photographer, are actually doing Central America and are available for commissions. I have numbers. 

cya and keep(ing) it fun….I just borrow it, btw, it belongs to someone else…..worthier

Johnt850, not aka The Pusher ‘cos I ain’t a pushy person.

(Ten out of ten and, yes, I do know about Wiki’s reference to the two songs in the movie but not on the soundtrack, but if the Met want someone creative…..hubba, hubba, hubba! Let’s Turkey Trot!)

Serious bit. Dennis Hopper, Frank Zappa and Johnny (not Joey) Ramone, all died from Prostate Cancer. 10,000 UK men die from it every year and not the 1,000 apparently 17% recently questioned thought. Rock’n’roll lifestyle didn’t help but at Dennis’s age? It’d be surprising if the cancer wasn’t happening, but not necessarily aggressive. Mine was. My PSA is now down to 0.6

Frankie Boyle (looking good, btw) on TV the other night describing himself as a ‘teetotal (sp) alcoholic’. Drinks in one of the Byres Road coffee houses I frequent.

Smiley bit. I live in amazing company. I have my own hair. All over. And I enthuse. What a personal statement this is going to be!

Now, go away. I have a chapter to edit. I have a habit to fund. Flash, Bang, Pow!

2 Responses to “All he wanted was to be free and that’s the way it turned out to be. Flow river flow. Let your waters wash down. Take me from this road to some other town.”

  1. SunDevil Says:

    The oil spill is nothing to laugh at but I just saw a kid wearing a t-shirt that cracked me up. BP – We’re bring oil to America’s shores. I died laughing because BP’s billion dollar image change to their new sunflower logo is forever going to be associated with the worst environmental disaster to strike America. Check out the shirt here – http://bit.ly/bJAuTb

  2. Generic Propecia Says:

    I found this page bookmarked and I truly liked what I read. I will surely bookmark it as well and also read the other articles when I get home.

Leave a Reply

