Highways hard in this modern world Battered boys and shattered girls Leather bombers that rule the streets Setting fires and living heat Let me tell you what we been doin’ Neon angels on the road to ruin

The band? Seventies’ female rockers The Runaways. And I was delighted to see fellow blogger Jaymi highlighting the same band (I think she sees them through different eyes from mine!) but I doubt if I could choose the track Ch..Ch..Ch.. Cherry Bomb and get away with it.  Student Jaymi can. Guitar heroes everyone, (almost)

And in the interests of fairness I should highlight the fact that the blogmeister blogs as well, but he’s not as good looking.

And, around about the same time, I did once go see an all-female American band called Fanny. Seriously. They’re on YouTube but not very exciting. But be careful how you google.

So I broadcast this week’s show from the palatial office accomodation that now exists within t850 Towers and some invites have been extended but maybe more of that anon. It’s March. It’s stock taking time. The radio doc has been and gone. Another idea is being worked upon, which is taking me into interesting waters.

And http://www.thewordprocess.net/ needs refreshed. Dissertations? Student rates, especially if I know you. Or pay me what you think it’s worth. I could make all the difference……just in case.

But three years ago this month, I was making my attempt to return to College after Cold Turkey Sunday, only to be told by some College management that alkoholics (like me) were scum, couldn’t be trusted and couldn’t cope. But they were very nice (sic) about it and did it on a 1:1 basis so that I wouldn’t be embarrassed!

Two years ago, I had that amazing night when Gillian, Christine, the blonde Gillian and Claire came over and I realised anything was possible (when I say anything……) and whatever may have happened since, it was such a brilliant contrast to closed College management minds. Since then I have replaced all carpeting within the house. No. No connection. My record collection has quadrupled. The interior has been re-painted and I look so much ‘hotter’ than I did before.

Oh, and I had cancer treatment. Successful? So far. So good. 🙂

Then exactly one year ago, I became properly self-employed and whilst it’s not worked out quite as I intended, I feel not unhappy with life. One or two things have still to happen mais……c’est toujours ton appel or we could go on Jeremy Kyle.

Obsession for Men is a compelling blend of botanicals, spices and rare woods. No. No reason.

Now some of you may have heard all of this before but Margaret who runs the burger van at the Nice’n’Sleazy end of Sauchiehall Street hadn’t. She thinks I’m a taxi driver and gives me extra onions. Which is great except I forgot to take the plastic box out of the car Thursday night and on Friday I was on the motorway heading South (well, Bellshill, which is East) and the stink was horrendous. But why, dear listener was there a copy of Hunter S Thompson’s Kingdom of Fear on the floor on the passenger side? 

And Angela, I am as spatially unaware as you. I realised that on the way back from Bellshill as what was meant to be the M74 revealed itself to be Tollcross Road.

And a final word about Aye Write last week. That female student I mentioned? Strathclyde University. One of Brian McNair’s, he was quick to tell the world – but he also highlighted something I hadn’t done – the whole event is a celebration of the power of the written word in all its forms.

But also my diet has improved, I thought to myself as I recently had a lunch of homemade soup and a roll’n’salt’n’balsamic vinegar crisps. West End (ish).

And I don’t drink alkohol but you should see how much Red Bull, Relentless, coffee and tomato juice I get through. Enough to feed any Ideas Monster at three in the morning and frequently does.

And of course this blog is now two years old (almostish). Thanks Clr. Thanks blogmeister. Thanks listeners.

Altho’ I notice another blog, MetroNautical, which reports mergers within Glasgow’s FE sector, refers to a new blogmaster. Accept no imitations. There is only the one blogmeister. But go for it Met College management. Passive resistance is the way ahead! ‘You have nothing to lose but your jobs’. It says so in the staff toilets.

Y’see, the reason I support the British Airways cabincrew action is because their conditions of service are what the rest of the industry should be aiming towards. Don’t attack them.

If only we had a Labour government.

The other thing about Margaret’s burger bar is, if it’s cold, you can rest your arms on the counter and get warm. Rule One of journalism. Get to know the people who run mobile coffee stalls. It’s where taxi drivers get their information from. But as lots of students I know come to the end of their degrees at places like UWS….well you probably got a powerpoint presentation on real information sources, didn’t you? 

(And my thanks to Ms Bothwell Service Station who, when I asked for directions, told me the quickest way was to go through the No Entry sign and turn right. That wasn’t in the AA directions I had printed out. But it worked.)

And, aye, I know I’m in a funny mood. Y’see I’ve spent a fair amount of time, journalistically and arguably unethically, this week with people whose (former) addictions are with different substances from the one I used but when I say, ‘three years and three months, clean and clear’, they say ‘well done, son’ and that means so much to me….and it’s not in an addiction centre or at an anonymous meeting, but at least one of them might be in a home closer to you than you think. Albeit unwittingly.

Sorry. I’ve heard some stories this week where some, now dead, people, didn’t even get a ‘dignified exit’. They didn’t even get the individual abuse, sorry,  ‘counselling’ (!)  I got three years ago.

And, so, if you find yourself in Summerston – not that far from Frampton’s on a Friday night but no ‘gear’, okay? – and you’d like a wee tour of t850 Towers and I know you,….. well you know how to contact me. Please. The infrastructure is in place and the milk is fresh.

Some invites have already been accepted. There are recipes to be sourced.

cya and keep(ing) it fun

Johnt850

And the brill radio broadcaster Charlie Gillett died this week. It was his book The Sound of the City which did so much to ‘inform, educate and entertain’ me in music. Books, music and radio – the ultimate trilogy. Somewhere out there is my copy of the book. I don’t want it back. I want it passed on ….and on….and on. Please. 😉

Leave a Reply

