2-4-6-8 ain’t never too late, Me and my radio truckin’ on thru the night, 3-5-7-9 on a double white line, Motorway sun coming up with the morning light

Specially for older readers..one of the best driving songs ever, from the Tom Robinson Band and the summer of ’78, when some of my other readers were still years away from being a twinkle in their parents’ eye. (Sob). And speaking of twinkles. It’s getting harder. 

Yes. The treatment is really beginning to kick in. Twenty two visits gone and fifteen to go and what is now happening is that the sandblasters are really beginning to home in on the main cancer, just like the Americans are doing with Osama Bin Laden (Bad analogy, doc, if you don’t mind me saying so). Mentally, highs and lows. On Wednesday I felt really down, so I contacted my “gd frnd, clr” (Sorry. I thought the side effects meant I had the vowel problem), who sent me, by text an inspiring message; “You are a lazy, fat smartass. Get on with it !”. It will, forever, be stored in my mobile. Mind you, clr must be the only person I know who can turn a harmless childhood game into “What do you want on your Gravestone… just in case?”. Coming soon to UKTV Gardens.

Whereas, on Thursday, simply because I turned up in a smart jacket, I was slagged rotten. Comments like “you’ve left the coat hanger in it” and “I hope you’ve still got the ticket from the pawn shop” (just in case) had tears running down our faces and great concern for those of us who had just finished drinking our water. Maybe you had to be there. Maybe it’s better you’re not.

Two or three of my new friends either finished on Friday or will finish at the beginning of this week but for technical reasons I won’t see them before they go. They don’t know about this blog, but a big thanks to them for making this all so much easier. I’ll do my best to stay noisy. Incidentally, I see the doc on Monday…soon, I enter Phase 2 of the sandblasting…..It’s like being in a bad episode of Battlestar Galctica…..and I want to find out a wee bit more.

Elsewhere, Kenny, the Shed Pimp, has been active. No. Still no new shed. (Worry not, blogmeister, when the new one is erected, you will get first choice of the pix). However, a man, whom I did not know, came to my door, shoved a twenty pound note through the letterbox and disappeared with my lawnwower muttering the words, “Kenny says it’s okay”.  I know K wanted to clear the shed first but I didn’t realise he was selling off its contents one-by-one.

And the News of the World has been giving away copies of a book about a (dead) crimelord called Tam McGraw, the Licensee, which explains why they’ve recently been running old or uninteresting stories about the Happy Dust Gang or triad fire raising in Cumbernauld..not that Cumbernauld isn’t interesting!

However, Elaine, you and your book club might be interested in engaging as guest reviewers the two gentlemen I was talking to later in the day about the book as in “He didn’t kill that one. He killed the other one. Aye, but it was with an UZI, no’ an AK47”. Just a thought. Incidentally, e, nothing from the Wyndford this weekend….so far.

Talking of gay icons, (TRB above), credit where credit is due to all those Rangers fans heading south to Manchester this week, obviously for the climax of the city’s annual gay festival Queer Up North (www.queerupnorth.com). How very liberal. And. Yes. I did see that one of the Zenit St Petersburg players is called Arshavin.And. No. I’m not doing the gag. It’s much too easy a target. (When I say……)

Meanwhile those of you close to the cemetary awaiting the arrival of The Torrance One-The Vampire Slayer, may have to wait a little longer. She’s stuck at the the big roundabout at the top of the Balmore Road. Y’see, T1, that’s why Gantt Charts are so important!! (Actually I think she’s overwhelmed by movie offers given the number of Vampire movies around at the moment)

By the way, Debbie, I think you should tell Mary what she’s missing by not reading this…and Lauren as well. Why not?

Finally, thanks to Richard Winton’s excellent article in the Herald on Friday, we now know that Melanie McKenzie is coming to work in Summerston (and the Glasgow North West Area) as a community tennis coach. Good luck to her and, see, Parfery person, we are on the way up as an area. Like you, we even have our own loch, only ours is called Possil, yours is called Lomond.

cya

Johnt850

2 Responses to “2-4-6-8 ain’t never too late, Me and my radio truckin’ on thru the night, 3-5-7-9 on a double white line, Motorway sun coming up with the morning light”

  1. Dennis Kelly Says:

    Excellent offering for this Sunday John. Eminaently readable and cheered up the start to an otherwise dull day. 6 out of 10 which is an imrovement on the “see mee” I was going to put on one of the musings earlier on. Like your treatment you are well in the stride now. Only 15 to go. What am I going to read when you’ve been sorted.

    Take care my friend

  2. Johnt850 Says:

    I’ve still to talk to my editorial team but my view is if I can keep it up I’ll keep it going

Leave a Reply

