I fought with a stranger and I met myself, I opened my mouth and I heard myself, It can get pretty lonely when you show yourself. Guess I could have made it easier on myself But I could never follow

Those Dixie Chicks can really read my mind…and, no, I didn’t even get an interview for the job at the College. However, to much more important things.

I think I know why it’s so quiet down the sandblasting centre. One of the doomsday machines is being serviced next week and I, along with others, am moving to another machine. Presumably they’re keeping the numbers down (No. Not culling) until both machines are up and running. It’s like being in the Falkirk Wheel and not moving. Not unpleasant until yesterday when the accompanying music was SClub7. That will mean lots of new people, including women who come down for radiotherapy, in addition to chemo. I, as an old hand, will make them welcome.

Plus my ego continues to diminish. (Go ahead. Have a good laugh). It reached its peak the other day when one radiotherapist said to a new radiotherapist, “John’s used to us looking for it, aren’t you, John ?” No, I’m not. I remember a time when size did matter…. just in case…..and I look forward to those days returning.

And Ian Maclean, what do you mean by the figure “80%” after your successful prostate surgery? How do you measure such a figure? I ask naively.

Moving swiftly on. I got a text from a gd frnd (No. I’m nor sure what that is either but she did sign it at the bottom, let me make that clr) on Sunday telling me that it was Star Wars Day.  I now realise, given the date, that it was merely an opportunity for her to say, “May the Fourth be With You”.

What I didn’t tell her is that I am frightened of people who dress up in strange costumes (at least that’s what I told the Judge) and that I had a very unfortunate experience with a man who had dressed up as Batman, when I was quite young. Okay I was forty and it was in the Maclellan Galleries. Hey, it was dark and I didn’t know he was going to unfold his arms quite like that. To my son, who was with me that day, I’m glad you turned out normal and I hope the exams go well.

Incidentally, for anyone who ever lived in East Kilbride, I noticed an advert for a property development offering “roundabout access” as a plus point. I’m sorry but is there anywhere in EK that doesn’t have access to such a thing?

Kenny, my shed pimp, was round last night to discuss my requirements. Amazing the services he has on offer. And, as he pointed out, if I’m getting a new shed, then I must be looking to the future. (See above)

And finally…. hang on, what’s this?

“Once in a generation a slayer is born. One girl in all the world (well, Torrance) with the power to battle the demons, vampires and the Buckfast drinkers in the cemetary. All hail The Torrance One – Vampire Slayer!” They’re all talking about her down at the burger bar in the car park down at the ASDA. What can be ahead for us all?

cya

Johnt850

 

 

One Response to “I fought with a stranger and I met myself, I opened my mouth and I heard myself, It can get pretty lonely when you show yourself. Guess I could have made it easier on myself But I could never follow”

  1. Dennis Kelly Says:

    I thought I could hear the curious tone
    Of the cornet, clarinet and big trombone.
    Fiddle, cello, big bass drum,
    Bassoon, flute and euphonium,
    Far away, as in a trance,
    I heard the sound of the Floral Dance.

    OK, so you wouldn’t print the words from the Wurzels, but what about the chorus from that classic made famous by Terry Wogan, the Floral Dance. By the way, where do you get a shed pimp, I could do with one of those as all the other pimps I know are getting so expensive. Enjoyed your musings again John, and understood barely 10%, but then in the 35 years we have known each other 10% understanding was when I peaked about 8 years ago so doing quite well really. By the way, Ann is a huge Dixie Chicks fan, and huge Dixie Chicks are better value than normal sized ones.
    Catch you later.

Leave a Reply

